Gas station without pumps

2012 October 27

New PC board design for pressure sensor

I designed a new breakout board for a pressure sensor today, for the MPX2053DP sensor. It took me a while to get the unibody outline drawn in an Eagle library so that I could place the part.

I could get 10 copies of the board from ITEAD for the same price as the instrumentation amp prototyping boards ($9.90 for 10, plus shipping), since they are 1.25″×1.1″, or 3.175cm×2.794cm, which is under the 5cm×5cm breakpoint for that price.  I could get 3 copies from OSHPark for $6.88 (including shipping).  If I later need a larger number of boards, I can get 100  boards smaller than 5cm×5cm for $75 or 200 for $120 from ITEAD, but I don’t think I’ll need that many this year, since we’ll either make a dozen pressure sensors for the lab, or have each student solder up their own (for which 30 boards would be plenty this year).

I also found a source for a cheap capacitor collection that we may be able to use for the student kits.  It has 10 each of 25 different values from 1pF to 0.1µF.  I would have preferred slightly larger values (say, 47pF to 4.7µF), but at $4.80 for 250 capacitors it seems like a pretty good deal.  Unfortunately, I can’t tell if they are 0.1″ or 0.2″ spacing on the leads, which would make a difference for my protoboard design.  If I order the pressure sensor breakout boards from ITEAD, I could order capacitors at the same time.

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. Hi,

    Would it be possible to send me the Eagle library file of your PCB? I need to do basically the same as you have done!

    Thanks,
    Herman

    Comment by Herman — 2014 June 14 @ 07:03 | Reply

    • The board designs are available at http://users.soe.ucsc.edu/~karplus/bme101/pc-boards/

      You’ll probably want to use something like an MPX2050DP sensor, instead of an MPX2053DP, as that has been discontinued.

      or new designs (not in-class exercises in instrumentation amps), I would recommend one of the sensors that has a built-in amplifier, like the MPX5050DP, though that is $4 more and has 6 pins instead of 4.

      Comment by gasstationwithoutpumps — 2014 June 14 @ 11:06 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers

