Gas station without pumps

2013 January 16

West Point Bridge Design Contest 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — gasstationwithoutpumps @ 21:54
Tags: , , , , ,

I modified last year’s bridge to meet the constraints of this year’s West Point Bridge Design Challenge:

Bridge design costing about $169.9k in the 2013 contest.  Note: I've deliberately distorted the picture to make it difficult to blindly copy the design, as I had problems with middle-school students using my published designs to cheat on their homework.  The truss design I have here can be used as inspiration, but not copied directly.

Bridge design costing about $169.9k in the 2013 contest. Note: I’ve deliberately distorted the picture to make it difficult to blindly copy the design, as I had problems with middle-school students using my published designs to cheat on their homework. The truss design I have here can be used as inspiration, but not copied directly.
As of 2013 Jan 16, this design is number 3 in the “open competition”, but I’m sure it will slip a long way, as I don’t plan to do much (if any) tweaking.

I found it interesting that from this year’s version of the code they removed the options to change the viewpoint from which the bridge was viewed, though the included help system still describes the now-missing controls.

1 Comment »

  1. […] West Point Bridge Design Contest 2013 (gasstationwithoutpumps.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Engineering Encounters Bridge Design Contest 2014 | Gas station without pumps — 2014 January 18 @ 23:23 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers

