Gas station without pumps

2011 May 16

Campaign for the Future of Higher Education press conference

Filed under: Uncategorized — gasstationwithoutpumps @ 16:31
Tags: ,

The Campaign for the Future of Higher Education is a “new grassroots national campaign to support quality higher education. … to ensure that affordable quality higher education is accessible to all sectors of our society in the coming decades.”

They are having their first press conference tomorrow (17 May 2011) at the National Press Club in Washington DC.

Watch the webcast at: www.visualwebcaster.com/CFHE

1 pm Eastern • Noon Central • 11 am Mountain • 10 am Pacific

May 17, 2011

They have identified 7 core principles, which I blogged about when they first announced the organization:

  1. Higher Education in the 21st Century must be inclusive; it should be available to and affordable for all who can benefit from and want a college education.  
  2. The curriculum for a quality 21st Century higher education must be broad and diverse.  
  3. Quality higher education in the 21st Century will require a sufficient investment in excellent faculty who have the academic freedom, terms of employment, and institutional support needed to do state-of-the-art professional work.  
  4. Quality higher education in the 21st century should incorporate technology in ways that expand opportunity and maintain quality.  
  5. Quality education in the 21st Century will require the pursuit of real efficiencies and the avoidance of false economies.
  6. Quality higher education in the 21st Century will require substantially more public investment over current levels.
  7. Quality higher education in the 21st century cannot be measured by a standardized, simplistic set of metrics.

These goals are reasonable ones, and the further explanation of the goals is helpful in clarifying them.  My opinion has not changed since my previous post: these are pro-technology, pro-diversity goals, but (other than trying to keep public funding alive) they have identified no strategy for attaining them.  I wish them success, and when they have identified some specific actions that I can reasonably take as a professor at a public university, I’ll be interested in hearing about them.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: