Gas station without pumps

2015 November 25

Buy Nothing Day

Filed under: Uncategorized — gasstationwithoutpumps @ 20:00
Tags: , , , ,

Today I got a message from Leanpub, the site where I’m selling drafts of my Applied Electronics for Bioengineers book, suggesting that authors provide a discount for Black Friday, the biggest shopping day of the year in the USA (or one of the 10 biggest, depending whose figures you believe).

My family doesn’t engage in the demented frenzy of orgiastic consumerism that the day after Thanksgiving has become in the US.  We, instead, stay home and celebrate Buy Nothing Day.  The celebration is simple: we stay home and buy nothing that day—not venturing out into the crazy traffic of drivers too stoked on the thought of bargains to look out for pedestrians, not doing on-line ordering, not even ordering pizza by phone (though we did do that one year, when we didn’t have enough food in the house for dinner).

Despite our family’s habits, though, I’m going along with Leanpub and offering a discount on my book:  From Friday 2015 Nov 27, through Monday Nov 30 (“Cyber Monday”), I’m lowering the minimum price on my book from $3 to $2.50.  As always, this includes not just the PDF of the current book, but all future updates for as long as I’m publishing the book with Leanpub.

Quite frankly, I doubt that the 50¢ difference (17% OFF!) will result in any more sales. Most of the purchasers of the book are paying more than the minimum anyway (average currently is $4.89, and that includes several people whom I gave free coupons to).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

