Gas station without pumps

2017 July 13

Analog Discovery 2 oscilloscope input impedance fixed

Filed under: Circuits course,Data acquisition — gasstationwithoutpumps @ 23:25
Tags: , ,

This morning in Analog Discovery 2 oscilloscope input impedance, I wrote

I cannot fit a model based on the input divider circuit to the data—I keep getting a negative capacitance for C9 or C8, so that they can cancel each other.  These models also make C1 around 50pF.

So I can reconcile the DC behavior (1.044MΩ is well within the ±2% measurement error of the nominal 1.04MΩ), but not the AC behavior of the scope inputs.

I must be missing something, but what?  Any useful suggestions (which don’t involve modifying the Analog Discovery 2) are welcome.

This evening I figured out what I was missing. The model I was trying to fit was the following one for the oscilloscope, with a 2MΩ resistor in series as the reference impedance:

There is a natural, internal split into an 820kΩ and 220kΩ resistance in the input voltage divider (component numbers here are for channel 1, but channel 2 is identically designed).

What I was missing was parasitic capacitance from the breadboard and scope wiring. If I model a capacitor (Cref) in parallel with the 2MΩ resistor and another capacitor (Cextra) in parallel with the scope, I can get a good fit.  I can leave all the internal resistors and capacitors at their nominal values, and fit for several different values for the trim capacitor C8:

I can get an excellent fit with Rref being only a little over 1% off and reasonable parasitic capacitance values.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

