Gas station without pumps

2017 August 19

Progress on my book

Filed under: Circuits course — gasstationwithoutpumps @ 16:05
Tags: , ,

I have been slogging through the book, updating it to include feedback I got on it from students and notes I had made on grading assignments, and revising the labs to use the Analog Discovery 2 rather than conventional bench equipment.

I was a little disheartened when I noticed that I’ve just finished updating through Lab 3, out of the 12 labs. That looks like I’m only a quarter of the way through the rewrite, when I had hoped to be almost halfway by now. When I look at it in terms of pages, though, I’m much further along—I’ve revised through page 142, and there are 360 numbered pages before the references (not counting the 37 Roman-numeral pages), so I’m about 40% of the way through the rewrite. That’s a little behind schedule, but not terrifyingly so, especially since it is the beginning labs that needed the most changes to convert to using the Analog Discovery 2.

There are still 132 to-do notes scattered through the book, some of which are in sections I’ve counted as “done” for the summer, so I’m not going to run out of work on the book any time soon.

The PDF file is currently at 411 total pages, with 179 figures (203 distinct images, as there are some figures with subfigures) and 13 tables. It is up to 22.8Mbytes, which I could probably reduce by a few MBytes by better compression of some of the JPEG figures.

I’ve previously thought that it would be good to be able to make paper copies of the book available to students (see Textbook should be on paper), but the print-on-demand services seemed too expensive.  I was apparently not looking at reasonable services, as IngramSpark’s “print-and-ship” calculator says I can now get a single copy (perfectbound paperback, standard color, simplex cover) for about $24 (including shipping and sales tax).  Ordering 50–100 copies doesn’t reduce the price much (still $20 a copy—all the reduction is in shipping).  Unfortunately, their “weight and spine width” calculator says that my page length is out of range for an 8.5″×11″ book, but if I reduce my trim size slightly (t0 8.25″×10.75″), I can print with them and the cost is about a dollar more.  (There may also be an initial setup charge to create the book the first time, including things like getting an ISBN.)

If the book gets much fatter, I’d have to switch to a smaller trim size, which would make the book fatter still, and the increase in the number of pages would increase the cost.  I think that a 7″×10″ trim (which would allow up to 1140 pages) would cost about $3.50 more than an 8.5″×11″ book for the same content, assuming that I reduced the margins and the text block, but didn’t change font sizes.

Paper books through distribution channels are expensive: to get $4 a book (about what I get from the $5 e-book sales through Leanpub), I’d have to have a list price of about $42 a book based on IngramSpark’s publisher’s compensation calculator.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

